The Importance of Understanding and Balancing the Chakras

The Importance of Understanding and Balancing the Chakras

The word “chakra” is often mentioned in metaphysical circles and implicated in healing practices.  What exactly does this mean? 

The word chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel.”  The chakras in the body are wheels of energy, which vary in activity levels, depending on what we are experiencing in our lives.

There are seven major chakras, or energy centers of the body.  These energy centers are located on the midline of the body and correspond with every aspect of our being. 

Our chakras tell a story about our relationship with ourselves, others and the world around us.  When we feel vibrant, happy, and supported, our chakras are open and balanced. When we feel depleted, sad, or disconnected, our chakras are more blocked or unbalanced.

The Seven Chakras

A brief description of their meanings, as well as suggested balancing crystals or stones, are as follows:

The 1st chakra | Root Chakra

Sedona Crystal Vortex | Red Chakra

Known as the base or root chakra and is located at the base of the spine, in the tailbone region.  This chakra is our survival center and represents our connection with our physical body, environment and the earth.  Words such as “grounding” and “support” are often used to describe the state of this primal chakra, and it is associated with the color red. 

Crystals and stones: 

  • Red Jasper
  • Smoky Quartz
  • Onyx
  • Hematite


The 2nd chakra | Naval Chakra

Sedona Crystal Vortex | Orange Chakra

Also referred to as the sacral or naval chakra and is located in the lower abdominal region, approximately two inches below the naval.  This chakra is our pleasure center and relates to feelings, creativity, sexuality, passion and sensuality.  Orange is the color associated with the sacral chakra. 

Crystals and stones: 

  • Carnelian
  • Orange Kyanite
  • Orange Calcite
  • Moonstone


The 3rd Chakra | Solar Plexus

Sedona Crystal Vortex | Yellow Chakra

Known as the solar plexus, is located in the in the mid-rib cage area in the center of the body.  This chakra is the center of willpower and corresponds with the intellect, confidence, discipline, empowerment and inner strength. The solar plexus is represented by the color yellow. 

Crystals or stones: 

  • Citrine
  • Yellow Jasper
  • Tigers Eye
  • Amber


The 4th chakra | Heart Chakra

Sedona Crystal Vortex | Green Chakra

The heart chakra and is located in the sternum area.  It represents love of self and others, nurturing, teaching and connection to plants and animals.  This chakra is our compassion center and is characterized by kindness and generosity.  The colors pink and green are commonly associated with the heart chakra. 

Crystals or stones: 

  • Rose Quartz
  • Pink or Green Tourmaline
  • Malachite
  • Rhodochrosite


The 5th chakra | Throat Chakra

Sedona Crystal Vortex | Blue Chakra

The throat chakra is located at the base of the throat, in the thyroid region, this chakra is the communication center.   It signifies effective communication, self expression, and speaking one’s truth.  The color blue corresponds with the throat chakra. 

Crystals or stones: 

  • Turquoise
  • Lapis Lazuli
  • Sodalite
  • Blue Lace Agate


The 6th chakra | Third Eye Chakra

Sedona Crystal Vortex | Dark Blue Chakra

Referred to as the third eye or brow chakra and is the center of intuition.  Located in the mid brow area of the forehead, this chakra relates to the pineal gland, our gateway to inner vision, insight and psychic awareness.  The color associated with the third eye is indigo. 

Crystals or stones: 

  • Amethyst
  • Blue Apatite
  • Labradorite
  • Fluorite


The 7th Chakra | Crown Chakra

Sedona Crystal Vortex | Purple Chakra

Located at the top of the center of the head and is called the crown chakra.  This chakra is our connection to higher consciousness and spiritual guidance.  The crown chakra is represented by the colors violet and white. 

Crystals or stones: 

  • Clear Quartz
  • Apophyllite
  • Herkimer Diamond
  • Moldavite.


When we understand the energies associated with our chakras, we begin to understand importance of creating balance and openness in all areas of our being.

Sedona Crystal Vortex offers a variety of services to assist you.  Aura photos allow you to see images of your chakras and energy field, and the various crystals or stones can help with rebalancing energies.  We also offer healing support through Chakra Balancing Massage, Reiki, and Reconnective Healing sessions.  Call 928-282-3388 or 928-282- 3543 for an appointment with one of our practitioners or visit us at Sedona Crystal Vortex.  Your chakras will thank you!

Back to blog